Modeling and Simulation Professional Certification Commission The Organization for Developing and Providing Professional Certification

Mission & Vision

Who We Are

M&SPCC History



M&SPCC History

To learn more about the M&SPCC foundation and history please download and read the M&SPCC Implementation Plan (PDF).

Meet the men and women of the Pioneer and Charter Member groups.

Pioneers are members of the Implementation Group, Certification Board and Exam Subcommittee who led the establishment of the M&SPCC and its subsequent certification process.

Charter Members were nominated by their peers to participate in the first two rounds of certification. During the certification process these individual were required to present proof of their qualifications and activities within the modeling and simulation community.


The modeling and simulation profession, industry and market have been rapidly maturing, yet lacked the identity, unity and perceptible coherency of associated domains such as computational science, systems engineering and training delivery. This lack of identity and the associated fragmentation of this evolving industry serves as an impediment to the necessary development and application of modeling and simulation technologies and practices.

Development of both the profession and the industry has been inhibited by the fact that there is no generally accepted set of qualifications or functional competencies inherent in modeling and simulation. Additionally, there has been no specific form of officially certifying professional modeling and simulation practitioners. The lack of guidelines for determining professional competency made the establishment and delivery of educational programs difficult, and the lack of availability of metrics and standards for functional competency made labor market transactions inefficient for both buyers and sellers of professional services.

An Implementation Program was developed to establish organizations and processes whereby professional certification for the modeling and simulation industry may be conducted in a consistent and dependable way.

Under the auspices of the National Training and and Simulation Association, the Modeling and Simulation Professional Certification Commission (MSPCC) is the organization for developing and providing the professional certification. The Implementation Group was formed to define and implement the Modeling and Simulation Professional Certification Commission and establish the Modeling and Simulation Professional Certification Board (MSPCB), an element of the Commission.

June of 2001 was the implementation of the inaugural certification program for modeling and simulation professionals. The inaugural certification was focused on the Defense Training Simulation Professionals (DTSP), represented at forums such as the Interservice/Industry Training, Simulation and Education Conference.

Having been developed in concert with a wide range of simulation professionals outside of DTSP, the initial Level certification was implemented to be expressly and systematically extensible to the broad spectrum of modeling and simulation professionals.

Following the inaugural certification, the Implementation Group continued the development of consistent professional guidelines and processes that encourage the expansion of the program beyond the recognized limited scope of Defense Training Simulation Professionals.

Under an estimated two years of supervision by the Implementation Group, the Modeling and Simulation Professional Certification Commission will be develop professional guidelines for the Commission and Board for the advancement and administration of the program.

- Top of Page -


Charter Members

  • Mr. Larry Alexander
  • Mr. Michael Anderson
  • Mr. William Andrews
  • Mr. Fernando Barros
  • Mr. David (Bart) Bartlett
  • Mr. Neil Bates
  • Dr. Christian Bauer P.E.
  • Dr. Lee A. Belfore II
  • Ms. Debbie Berry
  • Ms. Michelle Bevan
  • Lt Col Eileen Bjorkman, USAF
  • Dr. James Blake
  • Mr. Mark Boyd
  • Dr. Linda Brent
  • Mr James Campbell Jr
  • Mr. Joseph Celano
  • Mr. Robert M. Chapman
  • Dr Thomas Clarke
  • Mr. Denis Clements
  • Mr. Michael Conti
  • Ms. Candace Conwell
  • Mr Kevin Curley
  • Mr. Robert Dean, III, P.E.
  • COL(R) Rae Dehncke
  • Mr. William Edmonds
  • Dr. Bruce Fairchild
  • Dr. Mary Fischer
  • Mr. Eugene Frazier
  • Mr. Gerald Frazier
  • Mr. Milton Fulghum Jr.
  • Mr. Joseph Gauthier
  • Dr. William Gerber
  • Mr. Brian Goldiez
  • Dr Steven Gordon
  • Mr. David Gross
  • Dr. Dutch Guckenberger
  • Mr. Thomas Halinski
  • Dr. Phillip Hammonds
  • Mr. Paul Hanover
  • Mr. Gregory Hansen
  • Ms. Sharon Hardy
  • Mr William (Bill) Harris P.E.
  • Mr. Frederick Hartman
  • Mr. Edward Harvey Jr.
  • Dr. Amy Henninger
  • Dr. Daryl Hild
  • Mr. Roy Hixson
  • Dr. Mehmet Hocaoglu
  • CAPT James Hollenbach USN (Ret.)
  • Mr Steve Husak
  • Mr. Michael Jacezko, Jr.
  • Mr. James Jardon II
  • Mr. Gary Kamsickas
  • Mr. Kenneth Kelly
  • Mr. Tag Gon Kim
  • Ms. Laura Knight
  • Mr. Gary Kollmorgen
  • Mrs. Christine Kovach
  • Mr. Paul Kralovanec
  • Mr. George Kralovec
  • Mr. Lee Lacy
  • MAJ David Laflam
  • Mr. Lloyd Landry Jr
  • Mr. Thomas Leising
  • Mr. Gary (Mike) Lightner
  • Mr. Stewart Liles
  • CAPT Michael Lilienthal
  • Dr. Richard (Bowen) Loftin
  • Mr. Randall Macala
  • Mr Jeffrey Marlin
  • Mr. Wylie May
  • Professor Dennis McBride Ph.D.
  • Mr. Mark McDaniel
  • Mr. John McGinn Jr
  • Dr. Frederic McKenzie
  • Mr Michael McNulty
  • Dr. Roland Mielke
  • Mr. Douglas Miller
  • Mr. Thomas Miller
  • Dr. Katherine Morse
  • Mr. Paul Murtha
  • Mr. Ralph Nebiker
  • Ms. Kimberly Neff
  • Ms Ann O'Kennon
  • Mr. Henry Okraski
  • Dr. Ernest Page
  • CPT Joel Pawloski
  • Dr. Mikel Petty
  • Dr. David Pratt Ph.D
  • Dr. Michael Proctor
  • Mr. John Rabeni
  • Mr. Brian Raver
  • Mr. Mark Ricci
  • Mr. Edward Roberts, P.E.
  • CDR Kim Roddy, USN
  • Ralph Rogers Ph.D.
  • Mr. Kevin Roney
  • Mr. Richard Roop
  • Prof. Hessam Sarjoughian Ph.D.
  • Dr. Mark Scerbo
  • Mr. James Scherer Sr.
  • Mr Harry Shackelford
  • Dr. Elizabeth Sheldon PhD
  • Mr. Roger Smith
  • Mr. Charles Snead
  • Mr. Jerry Stahl
  • Mr. Thomas Stanford
  • Mr. Kenneth Steffee
  • Dr. Jeffrey Steinman Ph.D.
  • Dr. John Surdu
  • Mr. Steven Swaine
  • Dr. William Swart
  • Mr. Joseph Swinski
  • Mr. John Tennant
  • Mr. David Thomen
  • Mr. Harry Thompson III
  • Mr. William V. Tucker
  • Mr. William Turner
  • Dr. Robert Tyler
  • Mr. Craig Unrath
  • Mr. Charles Venable
  • Dr. Gabriel Wainer
  • Dr. James Wall
  • Mr. Jeffrey Wallace
  • Mr. Ralph Weber
  • Mr. Darwin (Steve) Webley
  • Maj David Wells, USAF
  • Ms. Laura Worcester
  • Dr. Robert Wray
  • Mr. John Wrigley
  • Mr. Gary Yerace
  • CAPT William Yerkes USN (Ret.)
  • Mr. William Yurcik
  • Ms. Philomena Zimmerman

- Top of Page -

2111 Wilson Boulevard, Suite 400 • Arlington, VA 22201
Phone: 703.247.9471 • Fax: 703.243.1659
For more information, e-mail